Clash Royale League combines Western regions for 2019 season


supercell preparing to bring that back Clash Royale League for 2019, but it returns with some changes.

Rather than having separate divisions for North America, Europe, and Latin America, the three regions are combined into a singular CRL West classification.

Clash Royale League 2019
Photo credit: Supercell

Last season, the Clash Royale League was split into five divisions: Asia, China, Europe, Latin America, and North America. The consolidation of Europe, Latin America and North America is said to be based on feedback Supercell has received over the past year.

The goal of this change is a consistent format across the West, Asia, and China Divisions. The newly created West Division “will have roughly the same number of teams” as the other divisions, will be based in Los Angeles, and will have both spring and fall seasons.

Supercell tweeted the following about the upcoming changes: “We are currently in discussion with several teams from CRL 2018 and finalizing details. Rest assured that we will continue to partner with some of the best esports organizations and select teams based on merit (esports history, expertise, player treatment, CRL engagement and more).”

On February 13th, it was announced that Supercell had partnered with ESL to launch the Clash of Clans World Championship – a six-month event with a total prize pool of $1,000,000 (£775,390). With the in-game Clan War Leagues feature and offline qualifier events, eight teams will remain to compete at an ESL event in Germany later in the year.

Esports Insider says: Considering that North America and Europe have a particularly strong rivalry in all esports, this can be interpreted as both a positive and negative shift, depending on who you ask. Personally, we like that Supercell seems to take feedback seriously and is actually making changes where deemed necessary.

See more new articles in category: Mobile Esports
Leave a comment