Halo Ranking System: How does it work?


On November 1st, 2021, 343 Industries shocked the world with the early release of Halo Infinite (Free-to-Play) Multiplayer. As fans around the world rejoiced, many of them began exploring the Halo Infinite ranked mode, where players compete against other competitors to climb the ranks. However, it was a bit of a confusing system from the start as many people doubted the stability of the Halo ranking system.

But in February 2022, 343 Industries addressed ranked mode and made a number of fixes to stabilize the platform. With that, the developers also introduced a “ranked reset” where players became players more balanced in terms of skill-based matchmaking. Because this is a more intense professional experience, the highest tiers of Halo Infinite are reserved for the best players on the platform.

So read on to learn more about the Halo ranking system and what it actually means for the more competitive players among us.

The Halo ranking system explained

Halo ranking system explained

Photo credit: PCGamesN

If you are completely new Halo Infinite Leaderboard, you must “qualify”. That means you have to play 10 qualifiers to get a rank based on your overall performance and stats. Winning matches earns you a higher rank, but it’s also your individual performance that decides early on where you rank. After resetting the Halo rankings, all players were down one rank and rebalanced accordingly.

Related: How to check your stats in Halo Infinite

There are several differences with this mode, which enables the Halo Ranking System to stand out from normal, traditional multiplayer:

  • The minimap is turned off
  • All players start with the Battle Rifle as opposed to the Assault Rifle
  • Friendly Fire is enabled by default
  • Items spawn in static locations
  • Grenade hit markers are disabled
  • Only Slayer, Oddball, CTF and Strongholds can be played

Additionally, changes have been introduced to address the queuing system in Halo Infinite’s ranked mode. When attempting to play, contestants join a solo or duo queue where they must choose their entry mode, or they can queue up with a full “fireteam” made up of four players. When you join an “open queue” you compete against players who use it Both controller and keyboard and mouse inputs.

What are the Halo Infinite ranks?

In Halo Infinite’s ranked mode, there are multiple ranks to achieve, and the goal is to climb as high as possible. If you’re trying to learn about the Halo ranking system, it essentially starts here. At the highest, most demanding level, only those the biggest Halo competitors in the world exist. For the most part, you’ll find players here who are legitimately professional players, some fighting in the Halo Championship Series.

These are the Ranks can be found in Halo Infinite:

  • Bronze I to VI
  • Silver I to VI
  • Gold I to VI
  • Platinum I to VI
  • Diamonds I to VI
  • onyx

Halo 5: Guardians featured a champion tier in ranked mode. This doesn’t appear to be a feature in Halo Infinite, however, and it likely won’t be available any time soon. This was a standard about Onyx, given exclusively to the best Halo 5 players in the world. While we may see changes in the future, including rank resets to rebalance the field, this is essential the Halo ranking systemand it’s all you need to know.

See more new articles in category: GUIDES
Leave a comment